Commissioners Unanimously DENY Mega-Landfill!

Mar 11, 2022

On Tuesday, March 1, 2022, the Haralson County Board of Commissioners voted in a UNANIMOUS 5-0 decision to DENY the re-zoning request by Solid Solutions Development for a mega-landfill in Haralson County.  Earlier in the day, Superior Court Judge David Emerson ruled against Solid Solutions in their emergency lawsuit to stop the vote from happening. 

The Haralson Alliance would like to thank the Commissioners for this decision, and we also thank each of you for your help thus far in stopping this mega-landfill in our county.  But the fight is not yet over, as it is possible Solid Solutions could and will likely file appeals to overturn our Commissioners’ decision. Please communicate to our Commissioners your appreciation for their decision to deny this request, and in the coming months continue to encourage and urge them to aggressively fight any appeals that may be made to overturn this decision.   Also, please encourage all our county leaders to explore efficient and cost effective ways of increased recycling in our county.  Their phone numbers and email addresses can be found at:  

We thank each of you for taking the time to complete our petition and provide your comments.  Rest assured, your name and voice made a HUGE difference in this fight!

We also greatly appreciate all who have been able to support us financially.  The Alliance has currently raised over $140,000 toward our total expected budget of $160,000. Most of these funds have been used to pay our legal team, who have provided much data and studies to give our commissioners many reasons to support their denial of the Solid Solutions request, and to help fight future potential legal challenges. 

Donations are still needed may still be made by check payable to Haralson Alliance, PO Box 501, Tallapoosa GA 30176, or by credit card via PayPal at  Please note the donations are NOT tax deductible. 

Thank you for your support, and please thank our Commissioners and encourage them to keep up the fight! 

Johnny Wright, Co-Chair

Scott Cosper, Co-Chair